The National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. Metropolitan Nashville Chapter was formed from a desire to establish an advocacy organization that could make a difference in the socio-economic and political arenas in our community. This dream became a reality through the efforts of women such as LaVonna Jackson, Janette McGowan, Mary Beth Crutchfield and Susan Short Jones, founding president. From this initiative, an interest group was formed. The interest group focused on leadership development, economic and political empowerment and enhancing the role of African American women in the Metropolitan Nashville area as part of a strategic plan developed to support its application for chapter affiliation.

Thirty-five women were the founding members of the Metropolitan Nashville Chapter. The chapter was installed March 15, 1994 at Loew’s Vanderbilt Hotel. Leaders from across Davidson and surrounding counties were present as the organization was formally introduced to the community.

Six presidents have led the organization—Susan Short Jones, founding president, Annie Wynn Neal, Samella Junior-Spence, Linda P. Hare, Marilyn Robinson, K. Dawn Rutledge and current president, Veronica Marable Johnson.

The chapter focuses on education, economic empowerment, and health-related issues, as well as promotes self-sufficiency, networking and leadership development through advocacy with action. As part of its strategic initiative, the organization has developed an agenda which focuses on leadership development, mentoring and empowerment of women who are socially or economically disadvantaged.